Columbia University School of Social Work Announces Advisory Council

June 7, 2006 @ 4:00 am

June 7, 2006

New York, NY – Dean Jeanette Takamura today announced the appointment of eleven new members to the Advisory Council of the Columbia University School of Social Work (CUSSW). In addition, the terms of five current members have been extended. The Council was first created in 1959 to advise the Dean on the strategic directions of CUSSW. Each member has been appointed to serve three-year terms commencing July 1, 2006.

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of a diverse and international group of members to the Advisory Council,” says Dean Takamura. “With an increasingly global society, the Columbia School of Social Work is enhancing its efforts to provide programs and resources to help our students to be successful in their practicum, locally or abroad.”

The new Council members are:

  • Virginia Trotter Betts, J.D.
    Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities
    Special Advisor to the Secretary, U.S. D.H.H.S.

  • Hallam Chow, J.D.
    Partner, White & Case – Hong Kong Office

  • Tami Farber
    Director, School Based Youth Development Program, YMCA of Greater NY
    Previously, Consultant to the UNICEF

  • Brenda Foster
    President, Shanghai American Chamber of Commerce
    Former President and CEO, ULU Group

  • Tangley Lloyd DeLaney
    Medical Social Worker

  • Debra Del Toro-Phillips
    Social Worker, Metropolitan Center for Mental Health

  • Joseph Stein
    Award-winning Broadway writer, Fiddler on the Roof and Zorba the Greek

  • Paula Stern
    Chair, The Stern Group
    Former Chair, U.S. International Trade Commission
    Former Chair, Advisory Committee of US Export/Import Bank (’96-’99)

  • Linda Taira
    Manager, Internal and Executive Communications, The Boeing Company
    Former Vice President, PBS Member Affairs
    Former National Correspondent, CBS News

  • Ann Van Ness
    Retail Entrepreneur, women’s fashion

  • Stephen Wing
    Vice President and Director, CVS

Appointments were extended for five Council members:

  • Jane Bernstein
    Private social work practice

  • Monika Heimbold
    Chair and President, The Heimbold Foundation
    Founder and Director, World Childhood Foundation

  • Linda Hoffman
    Executive Director and President, New York Foundation for Senior Citizens

  • Helen Lowenstein
    Private social work practice

  • Muriel Petioni
    Retired family practitioner, Harlem Hospital

For more information, or to interview Dean Jeanette Takamura, please contact Jeannie Yip at 212-851-2327 or