Curriculum Committee

The Curriculum Committee is the major body providing oversight of the school’s M.S. educational program, including curriculum policy, design and content. It is the final authority except in those matters that are the explicit responsibility of other committees or are reserved to the Dean by University statute. The membership of this committee includes four elected and four appointed faculty members, several ex-officio school administrators, and two M.S. student representatives.

Current Members


  • Richard Hara (ex officio), Lecturer in the Discipline of Social Work; Senior Associate Dean for MSW Education
  • Susan Witte (2021-2024), Professor of Social Work

Faculty members

  • Qin Gao (2021-2024), Professor of Social Work; Associate Dean for Doctoral Education
  • Courtney Cogburn (2022-2025), Associate Professor of Social Work
  • Amy Kapadia (2022-2025), Lecturer in the Discipline of Social Work
  • Andrew Hamid (2023-2026), Lecturer in the Discipline of Social Work
  • Heidi Allen, Associate Professor of Social Work
  • Jeanette Takamura, Professor of Social Work; Dean Emerita of the Faculty of Social Work
  • Amy Werman, Lecturer in the Discipline of Social Work

Ex Officio members

  • Cheiku Camara, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
  • Moira Curtain, Associate Dean for Student Affairs & Dean of Students
  • Monique Jethwani, Associate Dean of Faculty Development and Academic Affairs
  • Karma Lowe, Senior Associate Dean for DEI, Enrollment, and Community Engagement
  • Matthea Marquart, Assistant Dean, Online Education
  • Ned Walsh, Director of Institutional Research and Evaluation
  • Atavia Whitfield, Interim Associate Dean of Practicum Education

Student representative

  • TBA

What is the process for submitting a course?

Faculty submit the Course Proposal Form to the Office of Academic Affairs. The Assistant Dean of Faculty Development and Academic Affairs will send the new course proposal form and syllabus to the relevant Division for review. If the course does not fall into any Divisions, it will be reviewed by a faculty member assigned by the Curriculum Committee Chair. The faculty member may be invited to the Division meeting to discuss their course and the Division will then provide feedback on any required or recommended changes. Once the Division approves the course, the syllabus will be sent to the Curriculum Committee for a final review and approval. Within a few days of the course being reviewed, the faculty member will be notified of the Committee’s decision as well as the next steps.

How can students get involved?

At the start of the academic year, the Office of Student Life sends out a call for applications for all School Committees. When the applications close, Student Life sends the applications to the committee chairs and the committee chairs make the final decisions and contact the student representatives.

How frequently does the Curriculum Committee meet?

The Curriculum Committee is scheduled to meet once a month between September and April.

Curriculum Committee Abridged Minutes

View the minutes of the 2021–2022 meeting here (must have Lionmail to access).

View the minutes of the 2020–2021 meeting here (must have Lionmail to access).

Feedback Form

The Curriculum Committee welcomes any and all feedback on the School’s M.S. educational program. Please submit your feedback here.